Legal Question in Traffic Law in Florida

I privately sold a car for $400. 6 weeks after, I got a notice of lien from a towing company that states the persons name I sold it to contracted with them to get a tow but didn't pay for it and car is still there accumulating storage fees. I provided copy of proof of title transfer to tow co., copy of bill of sale and his personal and contact info, a photo of him. we had our tags, we turned them in and then filed a notice of sale. I cancelled my ins. on the car. all after the sale. I refused to give the tow company a copy of MY license they requested. I don't see a lien under my name under public records yet. I'm not the legal owner so I can't do anything their notice says to remedy any of this. Is there anything else I should do. apparently the buyer never got the car registered or titled in his name for it to show up in mine. This occurred 10 days after the time limit he had to do that. Is all my paperwork I listed, enough legal evidence I was not the owner when this happened?

Asked on 11/26/19, 8:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Craig Epifanio Craig Epifanio, P.A.

It should be. However if showing them your license clears it up, then show it to them.

Read more
Answered on 11/27/19, 11:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Florida