Legal Question in Business Law in Georgia

My husband and I are self employed wedding photographers. Recently we had a mother of a bride cancel the wedding that was scheduled for May 16, 2020. Our contract states that all changes to the contract must be made in writing. (Her cancellation was verbal - over the phone) Our contract also states that the 50% retainer that we require to reserve that date exclusively for them is non refundable. We sent her a cancellation contract that she never signed. Now she wants the retainer back. Are we legally obligated to refund her money, because it seems to us that she is the one in breach of contract here. Not us.

Asked on 5/18/20, 2:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glenn M. Lyon, Esq. MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys

It sounds like the 50% retainer would be yours and any additional amounts, if any, should be returned to the couple/mother.

Read more
Answered on 5/19/20, 6:24 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Georgia