Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Georgia

I am a 21 year old young woman, who has been modeling for a little over a year now. I recently signed a contract with NuHype Productions in Atlanta, thinking that they would help my career take off. The split was suppose to be 80/20. They did send me on an audition for a music video, but was late getting me the directions for the shoot, so of course I arrived late where I was told if I wasn't so nice and apologized for being late that I wouldn't have gotten a part at all, but since I was so pretty they gave me a background part instead of the lead part they wanted me for. Shortly after the video the ask me to sign exclusive with them for 90 days but the split would change to 70/30, in the contract my first and last name was mis-spelled, but I went ahead and signed it since they had gotten me work. Within a few days they wanted me to come and re-sign the corrected version without any errors, but I refused to sign the new contract, because they wanted me to pay to have my photos taken to build my portfolio and I didn't think that was right. I have been contacted by several photographers and designers to model for them, I have not accepted any pay for these jobs, they are doing it to help me build my portfolio. NuHype, says that I can not do this because I'm in an exclusive contract with them. Am I bound by a contract that has my name mis-spelled? They whole point of the exclusive was so that they could send me to New York, Miami, and Paris to their other offices to work, but so far no work from them at all.

Asked on 2/18/11, 3:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

Scrivener's error, or simple misspellings, are very rarely (close to never) going to be a reason to invalidate a contract.

Read more
Answered on 2/18/11, 3:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Georgia