Legal Question in Employment Law in Georgia

On 6/24/2010, I damaged a vehicle at work. I was told not to worry about it, the company will take care of it since this was my first incident. Last week they took a deduction of $50 without my knowledge. When I asked, they told me it was for the accident and they will continue to do so until I pay the $1000 deductible. The company handbook says the deductible is $500. I was told the new deductible started on 7/2/2010. We were never notified of this change. Am I liable to still pay the $1000 deeductible even though the accident happened prior to the change? Can a company start taking deductions from your check without notifying you first? The company I work for is based in Florida, but I work in Georgia.

Asked on 7/16/10, 4:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

You can sue them in small claims court. Be aware that they will likely fire you.

Read more
Answered on 7/16/10, 1:13 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Georgia