Legal Question in Social Security Law in Georgia

My son is 13 years old and his father recently passed away. We were not married and he was not on my son's birth certificate. He paid child support until Jan. 2004. I applied for survivor benefits at the SS office providing a court order for child support as well as DNA results as proof of paternity. He was not married at the time of his death and has no other children under the age of 18. The woman I interviewed with at the SS office said my son was eligible to receive $1400/month as well as a lump sum of approximately $10,000 for the year his father was on disability. I recently received a letter from social security stating that he is only eligible for the $255 lump payment. They offered no explanation as to why this was the only benefit he was eligible to receive.

Thank you for you assistance.

Asked on 6/08/10, 8:50 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

Hire a lawyer and appeal.

Read more
Answered on 6/09/10, 6:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Social Security Law questions and answers in Georgia