Legal Question in Tax Law in Georgia

I filed a Georgia tax return in 2012 which Georgia owed Me 150.00.

Georgia department of revenue kept the return and said I owed back taxes from 1989 and 1990. this is the email I got from a tax collection agency in Arizona .

Dear Mr. Williams,

Thank you very much for taking the time to speak with our staff telephonically this morning.

You have indicated that you will only accept further communication by email at this time.

I must remind you that email communication is not considered secure. You are acknowledging this and have instructed us to communicate this way.

We greatly apologize for the technical errors that prevented payment processing. We use a third-party provider for the technical aspect of that service, and they let us down. We are sincerely appreciative of your attempt to pay, understand that the technical failure was frustrating, and would be very grateful if you would call us back. Please see below for your account information. We encourage you to visit the Georgia Department of Revenue website for further information at You are welcome to give them a call to resolve any uncertainties.

Lien Id Tax Year Tax Amt Penalty Interest Total

95042032 12/31/89 1122.44 1122.44

95042032 12/31/90 576.02 201.60 777.62

Total Tax 576.02 1324.04 1900.06

is this legal? same lien Id both years.. no tax amount for 1989

Thank you again for your patience and courtesy.

cid:[email protected]

Thank you

Asked on 11/14/14, 4:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

Is that legal? It is "legal" for them to collect taxes due. Do you owe taxes or not? No one here can possibly know that.

Read more
Answered on 11/14/14, 5:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Georgia