Legal Question in Tax Law in Georgia

My publisher informed me that her company pays my editor for my editing my books. But she lists the fee on my statement as if I indeed did pay the editor. She informed me that she does that to give me a write-off for my taxes. Is that legal or is it setting me up for tax fraud?

Asked on 8/04/15, 2:58 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC

Of course, claiming a deduction for a non-existent expense is not legal. You need to make sure your CPA has all relevant information to prepare your taxes.

Read more
Answered on 8/04/15, 3:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Georgia