Legal Question in Traffic Law in Georgia

Hi I got citation for $190.00 for the headlight that was malfunctioning.

Officer pulled me over since the headlight was not working at that time. I explained to him that before I started to drive long distance, I did verify and it was working fine. He refused to believe me and gave me citation rather than a warning.

I took my car to dealership upon my return from trip, and my headlight was working. Adviser at the dealership strongly suggested that its the headlight bulb that goes into malfunction phase and finally it completely go out. I have service invoice.

I called county court and spoke to service rep and explained situation. I was told by the officer who gave me citation that I would need to appear in the court.

My problem is, I have to drive 200 miles to appear in the court.

Do you have any advice for me? Thank you.


Asked on 7/24/12, 3:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office also dba Glen Ashman Attorney

You either pay the $190 or appear in court and explain it to the judge and let him decide. There aren't any other options.

Read more
Answered on 7/24/12, 5:41 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Georgia