Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Georgia

I have a half sister that I've never met nor does she know our father. He died leaving her part of his estate (divided equally between the six children) and she will not respond to the lawyer's letters. Dad's will was declared invalid because he did not have it witnessed but because his estate is valued at $18k, the lawyer is trying to go for no administration. Meanwhile, I am having to pay all my Dad's expenses (mortage, insurance, power) until this can get settled. The attorney is not very aggressive and wants to send another letter and wait another month. I offered to pay her her portion $3k so she can have her money know, not wait until after all the assets are sold. What are my options if she decids to continue to ignore the lawyer. At what point does this stop? If I let the house go into foreclosure (I'm the only one that can afford to make the payments), the rest of us lose everything. None of the other 5 siblings have any contact with this sister/half-sister.

Thank you for any advise you can provide.

Asked on 2/05/10, 2:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles W. Field Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law

You need to get a more aggressive lawyer. Call around.

Read more
Answered on 2/11/10, 7:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Georgia