Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Illinois

can i sue the sheriffs office?

my husband recently missed a court date so doing what any person would do he went to the court house to get it straightened out. In the mean while i was home and the sheriffs jumped my fence one went around back while the other knocked on my door asking for my husband. I informed them that he was at the court house long story short while my husband was waiting for his court appointment he was approached by two sheriffs that asked for his id then he was arrested and told he had a warrant for his arrest so he was arrested in front the court doors and taken to lock up. while he was in lock up the judge called for him since he did not appear for the obvious reason that he was in lock up the judge signed for another warrant for arrest. The only reason my husband was able to get out was because an attorney took his case and found out what happened. What happened is that these sheriffs said that he was arrested for a different warrant from 07' which was found out to be false and untrue. These two sheriffs lied and were ready to take my husband to county for something he was already taking care of. Now there is fines and cash paid out and another issue of a warrant. This all seems injustice and immoral to me and to be frank down right shady can anything be done?

Asked on 11/21/16, 2:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Zedrick Braden III Ainsworth & Associates PC

Hello. Your husband may have a claim for false arrest, if he was arrested for a warrant that had already been quashed. He should discuss this with his present lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 11/21/16, 3:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Illinois