Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Illinois

I live in Colorado but went to prison in Illinois in 2001 and 2003. For pot. I dod my time and parole successfully. I moved in 2007. I am attempting to get a state certification through the state and I have to get a declaration page. I was told there are fines that were never paid because they never said the county levied fines. It has been more than 10 yrs with no communication so is there anything I can do to fight this since I threw out my paperwork at troops 8.

Asked on 8/26/17, 10:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jonathan Shimberg Shimberg and Crohn, P.C.

There are fines in every case and the time to contest those passed many years ago. There ia also probably no statute of limitations on the collection of the fine. Be happy if they are asking for 9 % interest.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/17, 12:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Illinois