Legal Question in Entertainment Law in Illinois

I am a screenwriter and I have my screenplays listed online for potentially interested parties to read. I received this agreement after a gentleman named Naresh Malik contacted me online and expressed an interest in my writing. And I'd like some advice on this agreement which he emailed me. First off, I am pretty sure a Rep should only get 15%. Secondly, I'd like to know if, after I sign this, will I be able to shop around and sell my own scripts in the United States? Do I retain my rights to sell my scripts anywhere else but India? Is this agreement too vague? It seems that way to me, but I have little or no experience in these matters. Would you look over the Agreement below and advise me please as far as protecting my rights of authorship and getting a fair Agreement for both parties? Thank you for your time. I look forward to your response...

1st April,2020


Nicholas Zingarelli,

Dear Nicholas,

Re: Authority to Represent

We refer to our discussions.

This letter hereby confirms that Faithience LLC shall exclusively represent you to the Indian Entertainment Industry, with authority to approach third parties on your behalf with the intent of identifying potential commercial opportunities for you.

We mutually agree as follows:

Authority: We will represent your projects for adaptation into Indian Languages for Film/TV/Web as applicable. You confirm that your work is original and indemnify us for any consequences if proven otherwise.

We will also represent your services for the possible adaptation of successful Indian books, films, television series, and/or other works into English language for English-speaking audiences.

You agree that Fathience LLC shall be entitled to a 20% (twenty percent) share of the fees and other revenue generated for our efforts in marketing your work/services in India.

We confirm that Fathience LLC has only the right to source offers on your behalf for your review, the business closure on all opportunities will be with your prior consent and will be conducted in total transparency.


2 (two) years and shall continue thereafter until terminated by either party serving 3 (three) months' notice of termination on the other.

Signed : Naresh Malik for Faithience llc

Signed : Nicholas Zingarelli

Asked on 4/02/20, 6:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Zedrick Braden III Ainsworth & Associates PC

Hello. I suggests that you take the time to sit down with a lawyer of your choice and discuss the terms of this proposal, line by line.

Read more
Answered on 4/08/20, 12:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Entertainment & Sport Law questions and answers in Illinois