Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Illinois

In Chicago, Illinois, I received my $1,000 security deposit from my former landlord but did not receive my one-month advance rent payment of $1,600. He sold the apartment, and the new owner refused to refund my one-month advance rent payment of $1,600. Is the new owner liable for that payment?

Asked on 3/22/22, 6:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Elfreda Dockery Law Office of Elfreda Dockery

That depends on the agreement between them, but as a general rule no. You should have a lawyer review your written lease with the former owner. Call me at (312) 372-5600 to discuss further.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/22, 5:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Illinois