Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in Illinois

On August 20, 2014 I had surgery for a laminectomy and partial discectomy of L4&L5; of my lower back, after the surgery, I had numbness of my foot and foot drop (which wasn't there before the surgery) the doctor put me in a brace and now he says I need fusion surgery (because the surgery totally failed giving me any relief from my original symptoms). At my first appointment after surgery, I told him my new symptoms; he became apologetic and admitted he nicked my nerve. Is this malpractice since the numbness and drop foot happened because he nicked the nerve

Asked on 12/20/14, 4:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lawrence A. Stein Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa, LLC

Maybe, maybe not. If nicking a nerve is a known complication of the procedure, and it probably is, your claim is weak.

Read more
Answered on 12/27/14, 8:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in Illinois