Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

I co signed an apartment lease for my daughter. while she was in college. She had a medical leave from the college. Notified the apartment that she would not be moving in. Got a person to take her room (but wasn't a sublease) The apartment complex wants the full year of rent totaling just over $8000. I talked with the manager to see about canceling the lease. She wouldn't now it's in collections. My daughter gave 5 months notice and never took keys or moved in. Do I have a case against this?

Thank you!

Asked on 8/09/19, 8:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Someone will have to review the lease. Once it was signed, her not taking keys and/or not moving in even with a medical escuse may not be a valid reason to terminate it.

Read more
Answered on 8/12/19, 6:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois