Legal Question in Banking Law in Indiana

I live in Indianapolis, Indiana. I received a check from a auction company for items I did not consign with them. It included a receipt for the items that were consigned. Both the check and receipt were in my name. I returned his check and notified them of the mistake. One week later I received another check for the same consignment/amount in my name with the receipt. My question is can I legally cash this check.

Indianapolis, IN

Asked on 6/13/17, 5:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

To do so would be theft. You don't want to go to jail, do you?

Read more
Answered on 6/13/17, 5:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in Indiana