Legal Question in Business Law in Indiana

Business Law

I own a small promotional modeling company and I have the girl's sign independent contractor agreements. I had two girls sign up for a hair show that paid a flat rate of $325.00 for one girl and a flat rate of $125.00 for the other. I received a total of $450.00. For some reason, these two girls mis-read the ad and thought that it would be much more than I received. In the contract it says that if the agency does not get paid, the independent contractor does not get paid. I have paid the girl's what I was paid and that was it. I am now going to receive a ''certified letter'' from both girl's lawyers about their conflict of what was stated in the ad. Am I responsible to pay these girls what they think that they are owed or what I was actually paid? I have all of my documentation including the check stub and emails from the company about how much the girl's were to be paid. I cannot pay them more than I was paid. They are stating that I owe them over $1000.00 more than I was paid. Is there anything I can do about these certified letters and if they do take me to small claims court, is there anything that I can do to prove that I was never paid the amount they think is due to them?

Asked on 11/26/07, 6:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Re: Business Law

Your contract and the ad control. However, if your contract is ambiguous, you may have a problem. Hopefully it is clear and concise.

Read more
Answered on 11/27/07, 8:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Indiana