Legal Question in Business Law in Indiana

work applications

I am seeking information related to work applications. I am a loss prevention consultant for business owners in Indiana.

I need to know specifically what an employer in Indiana can legally ask on an application regarding criminal history.

Most applications I've reviewed only ask if an individual has been convicted of a felony. I believe it is also legal to ask about misdemeanor convictions and possibly about arrest records as well.

I have been asked to submit a 'new and improved' job application form for a client and I want to be sure everything I suggest is legal.

Any information on this is appreciated.

Asked on 11/20/07, 12:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Re: work applications

You really need to have an attorney draft this part of the application. The language is somewhat tricky and certain terms need to be defined as part of the document.

Read more
Answered on 11/20/07, 12:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Indiana