Legal Question in Constitutional Law in Indiana

Church and State

Can drivers who have cars registered in the State of Indiana be forced by the State to display a license tag that reads, ''In God We Trust,'' even if the owner of the car does not share that sentiment?

Asked on 5/18/07, 5:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Regina Mullen Legal Data Services, PLC

Re: Church and State

No, there should be an alternate plate available, although that phrase, I believe, has been held to NOT constitute a violation of church/state separation.

Read more
Answered on 5/19/07, 10:41 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in Indiana