Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Indiana

Default judgement entered under wife's maiden name.

My wife had a default judgement entered against her under her maiden name for a credit card that was solely hers before we married. Can the court levy our joint bank account, even though she has no income, and all deposits are solely mine? She stays at home and only I work. The judgement was entered under her maiden name as well, not her married name. We have been married for 5 years, and the credit card in question is about 7 years old. We have had the joint bank account about 6 years now.

Asked on 7/18/08, 10:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

C. David DuMond Law Offices of David DuMond

Re: Default judgement entered under wife's maiden name.

Money in your joint account can be levied by your wife's judgment creditor.

Read more
Answered on 7/18/08, 10:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Indiana