Legal Question in Civil Litigation in Indiana

I live in Indiana and I sold a puppy to a Facebook friend in Michigan for $1500. He is worth more but I offered him for less to her. We arranged to meet a couple days later, I agreed to give her the puppy and that I would accept $400 in cash and an $1100 check that could be cashed 5 days later. I liked her and she seemed trustworthy. She didn't give me the check but I didn't think about it at the time. Within a couple of days she started telling me about his bad behaviors other problems. I told her every single thing before she decided to buy him but I still listened to her and gave my thoughts. She started to hint that she thought the price was too high because of his "problems". Numerous times I offered to give her money back and take the puppy. I encouraged her to take him to her vet and I would pay for the visit. After the visit, she told me her vet found a couple of issues that I was not aware of but they were nothing that I would lower the price for. She started to really pressure me to lower the price, she continued to come up with new "problems" and wanted to pay less, I kept saying no and offering a refund. The day before the balance was due I sent her a message about it but she didn't respond. I called the day it was due and it turned into a long conversation with her trying to get him at a lower price and me saying no. She got frustrated and hung up on me, then i got a message from a friend letting me know that the woman was telling people my puppy has lots of problems and I want $1500 and that is too much. I'm worn out from dealing with her. I messaged her and said I want the puppy back, I'll come and give her $400 back and take him.

I did not get the balance of the money on the day it was due and she continues to come up with excuses for why she shouldn't have to pay $1500. She told me she will not give him back and that she'll see me in court. I just want him back and to move on. What are the chances that I will be able to have him back. I'll give her the $400

Asked on 4/20/17, 10:38 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

You're done. Move on. Next time you know better than to accept less than full payment on the day of sale. This was a valuable lesson.

Read more
Answered on 4/21/17, 11:18 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in Indiana