Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Indiana

I realize that when you sign a lease only those who are on it can live in your apartment. I have been at my apartment for over 10 years. I originally was with my significant other and this spring we split up. when that happened I went into a deep depression and it sent My Crohns disease into a flair, I also had spent time in the hospital and than lost my job. well, I have 5 children and during that time they were afraid to leave me alone so they spent time with me. my oldest son was there most of the time to make sure I was eating and doing ok. the New manager of my apartment was extremely rude and told me that that he'd help me renew my lease. ( I was told my credit score wasn't high enough). he'd go to bat for me IF my Sons never came around, if he ever saw them he would evict me and make me pay the whole lease. THEY DID NOT LIVE THERE. they were trying to take care of me. my issue is... I have been looking for a new apartment. and he has gave me a negative mark saying I was an Non compliant tenant. For over 10 years I never was behind on my rent, never caused any problems but when my son stayed with me during my illness I became a BAD tenant. I felt he was rude and would not even listen to my side. because I have an incurable disease I get very sick at times. so now I have to pay more because I couldn't sign a lease and I can't find a place because he's making me out to be a horrible person. what are my rights. yes I understand that my son should not of been there as much as he was. either one of them. but my daughters stayed with me at some point too. because they care about their mom. what are my rights in this case.

Asked on 9/06/16, 1:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

This is Indiana. You have no rights.

Read more
Answered on 9/07/16, 9:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Indiana