Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

I have leased an apartment and my lease is scheduled to end 07/01/10, however I have recently bout a home and my close date is 09/30/09. I have given my apartment manager notice of 30 days. He has stated that I owe a penalty for not giving 60 days notice and also a 2 month penelty for breaking the lease. I would like to know if there is any laws, stating that I am exept because of buying a home, or any other exeptions that may apply. thank you

Asked on 9/02/09, 1:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

You are not exempt becasue you chose to buy a home after entereing a long term lease. If the lease provides for these pnealties and fees, you have to pay them based on the facts presented.

Read more
Answered on 9/02/09, 7:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana