Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Indiana

We have a utility trailer that we stored at a storage facility in merrillvile. A few months prior we got a call asking us if we had insurance and we told the facilty yes when it is attached to the vehicle. Nothing else ws ever said. A few days ago we got a call from the storage saying that they has a break in..which we found out our trailer locks (all 3) had been cut and we were robbed! We have a contract that i just found out states that we are supposedly responsible for any theft damage etc....however, they have ins which all of a sudden after saying our stuff will be covered is not now and they are avoiding us like the plague. This facility claimed to have top security by having a fence, well lit, 24 hr motion detion cameras with signs all over saying that they do, drive thrus to keep an eye on things, a gate that has a code for each customer etc...all this is lies! When we rented we put our trailer there under the impression it would be safe and somehow they old the police they have only one camera at the gate and one light so they did not get anything on camera. We are out about $12000. According to them, all the outside trailers locks had been cut, but when me and my husband wet there we only seen one othere and we are the only one who had been robbed. This theft had to have taken a long time. The manager lives on the premises for god sakes. Not to mentione the trailer door was completely left open and they really ahve no idea when the theft occurred proving they do not do the drive bys and do security like they say. We live with my parents right down the street from the facilty and went there every few weeks. The manager wouldnt even give me the owners number nor last name. What can we do? Can we claim this theft on my parents home owners even though it was not parked at the residence at the time of the theft? Can we sue them still for misreprsentation and void their contract? Also, if the house sits on the property would that home owners be responsible for the theft?

Asked on 2/01/12, 5:13 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Wilk Rubino Ruman Crosmer & Polen

The starting point is the language contained in your contract with the storage facility. If it states that they are not responsible, then they may not be responsible. Have an attorney review it for you.

Read more
Answered on 2/01/12, 5:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Indiana