Legal Question in Traffic Law in Indiana

I recently got a speeding ticket for doing 110 in a 70. The 70 (mph) was on an Interstate road in Edgewood Indiana (Madison County). It was around 4:00 in the morning and there were no other cars on this strip of highway. I was not under the influence of any substances. As I passed a police officer parked in the median of the highway I pulled before he could because I knew I had made a mistake. He gave me speeding ticket and sent me on my way. My court is on Thursday March 24th and I need some advice. I have a prior ticket (failure to stop or yield) on my record and I would like to know if this would affect me? Also, I called the Edgewood Courthouse to inquire about the ticket and was told that I would have to go to court because I could possibly be charged with a misdemeanor. I was wondering the likelihood that I would be charged with a misdemeanor and or have to face jail time? I have no criminal record, just the two tickets.

Asked on 3/21/11, 4:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove

Hire counsel from that county who would know what the practices and procedures are in the prosecutor's office as well as the local judge.

Read more
Answered on 3/21/11, 8:07 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Indiana