Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Iowa

I have a legal matter but I do not know what area of law it falls under.

I would like my problem legally identified.

I also want to know if I can sue for it and if judgements are granted

If it is I want to pay a lawyer to write a letter of demand and tell them I will sue If they refuse to meet my terms and conditions. (An apology, money in the amount of 5k)

Or instruct me on how I can do it myself or other legal agencys that I can pay to craft one for me.

I got accused of stealing.

A grocery store clerk asked me to show him the contents of my pockets because they were told by another customer that I was stealing.

All I had in my pockets was my wallet and receipt for the groceries I just bought.

This happened @ 1:45 pm on August 9 2021

They blocked the exit of the grocery store doors and would not move until I obliged.

They did not even apologize for inconveniencing me.

I believe they did this because I am African American.(43) was wearing a facial covering and a backwards fitted sports cap.

The clerk that made me empty my pockets was a Caucasian male.( 18-25)

The clerk said he told me to empty my pockets because a customer told him I put something in my pocket.

I have already been in contact with corporate and a local manager. They said they are investigating my complaint. and they can not give me any specifics or discuss it with me at all.

Asked on 8/20/21, 5:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Owais Ahmad Qadri United Law Associates

Dear whtsap me 03359910910

[email protected]

Read more
Answered on 8/21/21, 1:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Iowa