Legal Question in Family Law in Iowa

i may be called as a witness for prosicution in a cps neglect charge aginst a parent. i live in the same home but i wasnt there when the incident for all the hubub happened and i dont know anything factual all i told them were my own conclusion of what could of been or what i had heard from soneone else i didnt see anything so how can the even ask me to testify? i was so tired and distraught about the incedent after i was told about it, i was emotionally and physically exhausted i do remember telling him i hadnt slept sense i heard about it, i hadnt slept and couldnt even remeber the actual facts of what i was doing at what time or day , let alone what i rambled on about what other people told me. if i answer i cant recall will that be satisfactory? iv never testilfied befor and really nervous. help can they have you testify when you havent witnessed anything?

Asked on 12/02/18, 7:54 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner

If you're called to testify tell the truth. All of it and leave nothing out and add nothing. That's the only advice I can give.

Read more
Answered on 12/04/18, 11:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Iowa