I recently bought a car from Ford that I was told came with a 2 year warranty. I also have pictures of the car saying it came with it. After I purchased the car, I put 2000 miles on it and the engine blew on me. I took it in to get it fixed and they old me it didn't have warranty. I talked to the manager and explained to him what happened and showed him the pictures and they decided to fix the car. Now they are telling me that in order for me to get my car back I must pay them $1000 because they "didn't need to fix my car in the first place". I'm not sure what I need to do, should I pay them the $1000 or should take another route. I also never signed any paperwork saying that I would have to pay anything. No paperwork was done at all, they just took my car and fixed it and now they're telling me this. Thank you in advance!
1 Answer from Attorneys
Before you pay, examine the warranty and sales paperwork that came with your car. Most warranties are limited by time and/or mileage. You must hav fitren that 2 year figure from somewhere.
If it is written, you may be able to convince the manager to honor the warranty. If it was a verbal statement by a salesman, you may need to pay the $1000 without siginging Smyth ng, and attempt to get your money back afterward. You Kay have to go through the attorney General's Office or hire private counsel.
It is one if three things. The warranty covers it, you were mistaken about there being a warranty, or they tricked you. You might have to hire an attorney to find out which it is.
Related Questions & Answers
We are the tenant of a small retail business. We do not have a lease agreement with... Asked 11/18/14, 9:41 am in United States Kansas Business Law
Who is liable if someone slips on ice and gets injured? The building owner or the... Asked 11/17/14, 5:38 am in United States Kansas Business Law
If I pay an ad agency to develop and print promotional and marketing materials for... Asked 9/24/14, 12:14 pm in United States Kansas Business Law
I have been approached with an opportunity to purchase a business, however, the... Asked 9/23/14, 3:36 pm in United States Kansas Business Law
In the state of kansas if my dad died and had no will but im his only daughter and... Asked 9/14/14, 7:59 am in United States Kansas Business Law