Legal Question in Criminal Law in Louisiana

My mom turned herself in yesterday for a failure to appear on a misdemeanor charge in 2014. She didn't make her court date because she had to leave to take care of her mother who was dying of cancer in South Carolina. After her mother passed her fathers health deteriorated and she took care of him until he passed last year. She just moved back home and got a job offer at St. Francis hospital. She was made aware of the warrant for her arrest on Tuesday and went to the jail to turn herself in that evening. When she arrived at the jail the guard called up and spoke to someone inside the jail who told her to call on Wednesday morning to find out what she should do. When she called Wednesday morning she was told to turn herself in again which she did. I would like to know what happens now? As I mentioned before she has a job lined up at the hospital she needs to get to so what can we do to speed up sentencing and is there any hope of having it dismissed?

Asked on 5/14/20, 12:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

Find a lawyer who practices criminal defense in the Monroe area to discuss this with.

Read more
Answered on 5/14/20, 6:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Louisiana