Legal Question in Criminal Law in Louisiana

was arrested for aggravated battery, released next morning with help of bail bondsman, victim approached the da to drop and the da called back and told victim that no charges would be filed. im not showing on court docket or calender. would i need to appear for the court date given on the card when bail bondsman picked me up? i was given no other paperwork by jail or bondsman. and the criminal clerk of court shows nothing about it in their records. trying to figure out if i need to appear on court date given when being released from jail?

Asked on 7/30/19, 1:28 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

It is safer to appear and not be needed than to not appear and have a warrant issued for your arrest. Ideally, you can get a prosecutor to state that your charges were rejected or dismissed.

Read more
Answered on 7/30/19, 2:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Louisiana