Legal Question in Personal Injury in Louisiana

Auot Accident/Personal Injury

For the torts involving auto accidents/personal injury, is Louisiana a ''no-fault'' state? I've heard the term ''direct-action'' state but I'm not sure what it means. It is my understanding that in ''no-fault'' states, a party injured in an auto accident has to pursue redress & compensation through their insurance company vice suing the alleged defender outright. I'd like to know if such conditions apply to the state of LA.

Asked on 1/22/02, 10:46 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave

Re: Auot Accident/Personal Injury

First, Louisiana is not a "no fault" state.

Second, direct action means that the plaintiff can sue the insurance company directly

Read more
Answered on 1/22/02, 10:54 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Louisiana