Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Louisiana

My father passed away in 1991 and was in a nursing home on Medicaid. He had $0 and my sister and I paid for everything when he died. His time in the nursing home used up all his assets before he went on Medicaid. Now I have found unclaimed money on the site and they are asking for a small succession affidavit. Will they question it if I put $0. We did not do probate when he died since he had nothing. He lived in Louisiana.

Asked on 2/15/17, 12:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Maguire James G. Maguire, Attorney At Law

You could do a "succession by affidavit." No court costs involved. It just depends on whether or not the value of the unclaimed property would make even this simple process worthwhile.

Read more
Answered on 2/15/17, 12:21 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Louisiana