Legal Question in Criminal Law in Maryland


I was at Walmart and had ~$70 worth items in my cart. Due to some stress from office and my long distance relationship with my bf, I started going out without paying. I was not in my senses. The manager stopped me and asked if I paid. I immediately answered "Oh! I am so sorry, I was thinking something and completely forgot, I'll pay right now". He asked me to go to back office and he took my license and called the cops. When cops arrived he gave him my license and told I was shoplifting. Cop gave me criminal citation and told that I have to appear in front of judge.

It is not I cannot pay, I have decent job and earn more than 80k and go to walmart every week for grocery from the past 7 years.

I am really scared, I don't want it to be on my record.


Asked on 10/06/16, 5:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

William Welch William L. Welch, III Attorney

Apply to the Office of the Public Defender for an appointed lawyer.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/16, 7:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Maryland