Legal Question in Employment Law in Maryland

Can a US citizen work for an American company while living in another country? Such that the citizen has permanent residency in the other country and works remotely, as a virtual employee. Is there any legal requirement for US employees reside in the US? Putting aside company policies, are there any general federal laws related to this?

Asked on 9/08/18, 2:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anne Sampson Gbenjo The Gbenjo Law Group

Yes. I know of no law that prohibits working abroad for a U.S. company. You are however required to file your taxes on the income. I assume the company is here in the U.S.

Read more
Answered on 9/08/18, 5:56 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Maryland