Legal Question in Employment Law in Maryland

Can an employer fire you via telephone call? I have a full-time and part-time job. My full-time job had hours cut back, so me being a part of management I had to pick up extra hours which made me have to request a couple days off from my part-time job twice out of my entire time working there. The second time, the following week I wasn't put on the schedule with no explanation when asked why. The next week comes around and I'm still not on the schedule so I decide to call and again ask why. I'm told "I can no longer put you on the schedule" and I am hung up on.

Asked on 3/30/14, 8:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cedulie Laumann Arden Law Firm, LLC

Yes. There is no legal requirement to terminate in person or in writing.

Read more
Answered on 4/10/14, 7:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Maryland