Legal Question in Consumer Law in Massachusetts


> I booked a wedding photographer and paid a $500 deposit to secure the date. I paid her in full in June 2010 for a wedding April 30, 2011. I cancelled the wedding for personal reasons and notified her November 15, 2010. I asked in December for a refund of the amount over the deposit which was $2900, well actually I asked for anything to be returned so I could start over...and she said unfortunately I cannot give you any refund because I was not able to rebook your date....which is April 30, 2011

> I dont think this is legal considering the deposit secured the date, and I paid upfront for services to be conducted on April 30, 2011, which were never done.

> Can you help me out here? I have the contract and invoices.

Asked on 1/07/11, 7:14 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Paul Lancia Attorney Paul Lancia

What does the contract state? That is ewhat controls, if there is no language for canceling, then take them to small claims court.

Read more
Answered on 1/19/11, 2:17 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Massachusetts