Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Massachusetts


At the end of July 2017 the landlord left a termination of tenancy letter in my mailbox. I have lived in the apartment for about 6 years, but the landlord has not renewed the lease since the first year. I am paid up with the rent until the end of September. I will probably not be able to move out until October 2017. My question is that since the tenancy has been terminated do I still continue to pay rent?

Asked on 9/27/17, 6:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alan Pransky Law Office of Alan J. Pransky

You should continue to pay rent. If you occupy the property you owe either rent or use and occupation. The amount is the same. How the landlord treats it may be different buy you still owe the money.

Read more
Answered on 9/27/17, 6:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Massachusetts