Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Massachusetts

My tenant sent me a registered letter that she would be vacating my apartment on Jan 30. The lease says she is responsible for 60 days rent after written notice to vacate. That would mean Feb and Mar rent. She paid Feb rent on Feb 9, and passed away on Feb 10. Her Mar rent is covered by the 'last month rent' paid up front with the lease 4 years earlier. Is her estate still responsible for her Feb and Mar rent after she passed away Feb 10, or do I have to refund it? Thanks Dave

Asked on 2/13/15, 5:59 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

You have a claim against her estate for the rent. However make sure you have paid the interest on the deposit as required by law. You cannot take the deposit until rent goes past the 15th of the month.

Read more
Answered on 2/13/15, 7:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Massachusetts