Legal Question in Personal Injury in Massachusetts

Towing question, Springfield, MA

My girlfriend was involved in a minor fender bender and after the police were called the other driver drove off (just a bumper tap). When the police arrived they asked my girlfriend for her lic, registration, insurance. She provided the documents. The auto is registered in LA and her lic. was from FL. The police wrote her a ticked for not having a MA lic and for the tag being expired.

He then proceeded to take her lic and have the auto towed, even thou she was only about three blocks from the house. When she tried to ask why he was taking her lic and having the car towed he just told her to "keep quiet or I'll arrest you". Then he drove her home.

When her case went to court the judge asked why the lic was taken and the vehicle impounded? There was no answer. The total case was dismissed. When she went to police station to get a clearance to retrive and get her lic back, well the lic was never turned in into property (valid - not suspended and or expired) and according to the number associated to the officer in question, they could not ref. to any active office (they promised to research).

Now the towing company wants over $ 1700,00 for fees for an improper towing, but they also want to speak to the office in question. 1) Why do they need to speak to him, the case was dismessed? 2) Is she legally liable for such a towing fee (improper towing)? 3) Can they sell her car now that the case has been settled?.

any assistance would be greatly appreciated. thank you. jar

Asked on 10/05/10, 10:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Your question is too difficult to answer for free, or at least the answer would not be worth much. I would suggest you pay a lawyer for a consultation. Good luck. JBS

Read more
Answered on 10/14/10, 3:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Massachusetts