Legal Question in Business Law in Michigan

I am starting a business that could be rather profitable in a very short amount of time. My marriage, in the meantime, is on very shaky grounds. My husband has absolutely no interest in this new business and has a tendency to rely on people to bail him out of things (ex: his parents, myself, etc.). MY father has suggested that I might add his name to my company as a co-owner (meaning my father's name) in order to try to protect some assets in case of a divorce in the near future. My question: Is this possible to do and if so, would my husband automatically take ownership in this business if we were to get divorced? We have a young child that I am trying to protect as this business would be my means of supporting him and myself.

Asked on 3/07/17, 2:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Christopher Brown Brown & Associates, Legal Services, PLLC

This is a complicated issue to be answered via this forum. See I would be happy to give you the law in this area. Contact my office.

Read more
Answered on 3/07/17, 2:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Michigan