Legal Question in Criminal Law in Michigan

I was sentenced to one year of probation for an MIP of alcohol in January. The judge ordered that i comply with random drug testing and to complete 80 hours of community service by August 1st. Since the sentencing, there have been some instances where I made up my drug test the next day because I did not have enough money, or I simply forgot to call. It was NOT because I was trying to cover up any alcohol/drug use, though it probably looks that way. I have been clean the entire period of probation. Along with some of these "make-up" drug tests, I didn't get my community service done by August, so I got a notice for a court hearing due to probation violation. The violations listed are that i didn't drug test as required, didn't pay my probation fees in time(was supposed to pay $45 a month each month, and I only paid small amounts due to stressful financial situation), and not completing my community service. I have only completed 5 hours of the service and my court date is tomorrow. To give some background information- I have been in struggling with my mental health for a while, and this is the reason for my non-compliance. I don't know if the judge will understand this so I don't know what to tell him. I've been in therapy for about 3 years and I've been trying hard to better myself. Recently, my mental state has made it hard for me to accomplish tasks, so I am considering going to an inpatient facility to get intensive care. I don't know what to do as far as keeping up with my orders from the court and getting help. I'm nervous to see the judge tomorrow. I am wondering how I can help myself in this situation and what I should or shouldn't say in court tomorrow.

Asked on 9/17/17, 4:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

When you're going into court, it's best to hire an attorney to advocate for you.

You can

Read more
Answered on 9/17/17, 6:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Michigan