Legal Question in Family Law in Michigan

Hello. 12 years ago I was asked to marry a Canadian.....who....after 12 years stated he now has a wife and 3 kids that I had no clue about! I consider us still engaged! However, he took my ring away while I was cleaning...he now states he sold it back in Canada but can not send me the receipt of the sale. Not only am I devastated, but also shocked as he had me believe I "lost" the ring but knew I did one point he pretended to throw it in the lake and I knew that he still had it. Is there legal recourse to this? He just obtained his "green card" and told me that he couldn't file for a marriage certificate until this was complete. However, just after obtaining his green card was when I found out about the wife and 3 kids in Canada.

In the meantime, he promised my dying mother he would "always take care of me," never stopped me as I signed over him as 100% beneficiary to my life insurance policy and legally made him my POA, DPOA and guardian in case of an accident/injury/death! He signed all in front of a judge without telling me he was still married! Please help!

Asked on 1/08/18, 10:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

You should IMMEDIATELY change the beneficiary to your life insurance policy and revoke the POA, DPOA and other legal documents.

Read more
Answered on 1/08/18, 11:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Michigan