Legal Question in Criminal Law in Minnesota

I bought a Kirby vacuum over 2yrs. ago, I was paying a bank for the vacuum up until 4 months. I sold the vacuum to a friend over 10-11 months ago because I couldn't lift it because of back surgery, I still paid my monthly bill. Then a few months ago the company that called me and said if I could no longer pay for the vacuum he wanted it back. I wasn't paying the vacuum company I was paying a bank for the vacuum. When I said I sold it to someone he said I didn't have the right to sell it because it was a mortgage, I didn't understand and told him that the salesman never told me anything like that, you know they are there to just sell you the product. So, now the man from the vacuum company said if I don't get the vacuum back he was going to charge me with theft by swindle and of course he has scared me to death, I have been in touch with my friend and she said she would give me my vacuum back just so I don't go to jail, but I never intended not to pay my bill and the bank hasn't sent me anything on this situation. What do I do lose all the money I have paid on this, I really need some advice.

Asked on 10/17/16, 11:24 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nathan Hansen Nathan M. Hansen, Attorney at Law

This is a civil matter. Cops won't charge this out.

Nathan Hansen


Read more
Answered on 10/18/16, 8:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Minnesota