Legal Question in Family Law in Minnesota

I have a legal question I am hoping you can assist me with. I am an aspiring author, and the legal question is actually about my story I am trying to write.

My name is Deanna, and in my story, two newlyweds get into a car accident right after their wedding, and the wife falls into a coma. after having her on life support for months, the husband decides to take his wife off and let her die. Only, he forgets to sign the release papers involved in doing so, so she is never taken off support. The husband assumes his wife had acutally died, since he chose not to stick around to witness.

So after two years have passed, the husband has remarried. Then he learns that his first wife, who he assumed was dead, has been living on life support all that time, and is now live and well.

Who would be the legal wife in this case, the wife who was in a coma, or the new wife?

Asked on 4/02/10, 11:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Chris Sullivan Sullivan Law Office, PLLC

The wife in the coma. In MN, the "marriage" to the new wife is void - as if it never happened - since his previous marriage was not dissolved.

Read more
Answered on 4/07/10, 11:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Minnesota