Legal Question in Legal Ethics in Minnesota

General: Owner 1 sells a vehicle to Owner 2 and then Owner 2 sells it to Owner 3.

Owner 1 turned in their half of the title, however, Owner 2 never did. Eventually the title is put back in Owner 1s name. Is it legal for Owner 1 to take the car from Owner 3 as it is legally their's by title? Or would Owner 2/3 be able to legally claim is under special circumstance?

Asked on 8/20/09, 4:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Maury Beaulier612.240.8005 Minnesota Lawyers

Owner 3 is the owner of the vehicle as a good faith purchaser. Owner 3 can sue owner 2 seeking title or seeking a refund of the contract price based on breach of contract and unjust enrichment.

Read more
Answered on 8/27/09, 11:14 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility questions and answers in Minnesota