Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Minnesota

My step father told me that my mom has a life insurance policy naming me and my siblings as beneficiaries. My mom recently died and my step father, who claims to be the executor of her estate (apparently she gave him everything else), won't show us the will or tell me or my siblings the name of the life insurance company so we can make a claim for benefits unless we first agree to reimburse him for some of mom's medical bills. I don't know the name of mom's lawyer. What should we do?

Asked on 4/29/10, 10:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Reiff Reiff Law Office

Without knowing your mother's estate plan, it is difficult to say what is supposed to happen at this point. I think a letter from an attorney may help to resolve the problem.

Read more
Answered on 5/05/10, 8:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Minnesota