Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New Jersey

Hello. Thank you.

My Dad died without a will and with car debt. After the loan company auctioned off the vehicles, there is still a $30,000 debt being charged to the estate. There is some money in the estate but no where near $30k. What is the best way to start negotiations? Is there a certain percentage of the debt we can start as a minimum offer? How does the loan company know it’s our best offer? Can they ask the courts for proof of how much money the estate has? Any and all advice is appreciated.

Asked on 6/04/21, 12:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

You should have an attorney handling the estate and he or she should do this for you. If they can't do it or you don't have an attorney, we can help you. Call us at 1-888-982-4171 to discuss

Read more
Answered on 6/04/21, 12:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New Jersey