Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Jersey

My father took his cat to a vet, and the cat bit a veterinary technician. We recently received a court summons for a "dog bite" via a complaining witness who is a law enforcement officer. I've read that 1) In NJ, a dog must be involved for there to be guilt of a "dog bite" (we own no dogs), and 2) dog bites come with civil liability. Should my father plead guilty and pay the fine, or should we get a lawyer and fight this in court? I'm more worried about the guilty plea constituting evidence in a civil claim.

Asked on 6/01/21, 8:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

Get a lawyer. There is no reason to plea out here. You are also right on track. This is likely leading up to a civil case. Call us at 1-888-982-4171 to discuss

Read more
Answered on 6/01/21, 8:48 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Jersey