Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

I own a townhouse and the townhouse next to mine caught on fire. My unit sustained a lot of smoke damage. In order to speed up the process I got the unit cleaned myself but lost rent from my tenant due to the unit not being livable. I reached out to the owner of the unit that caught fire for reimbursement. The owner passed along the info to his home owner's insurance and the home owner's insurance sent me a letter saying they will not reimburse me because the tenant started the fire and the owner is not responsible. So I want to know what is my course of action for now?

Asked on 9/15/15, 8:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amy Klauber Klauber & Klauber, LLP

You definitely have a claim against the neighbor that should be paid by the insurance carrier. If you would like us to become involved, please call me at 732-663-1500.

Thank you.

Read more
Answered on 9/15/15, 8:10 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey