Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

in a text message on iPhone considered written notice? lease states: "all notices under this lease must be in writing in order to be effective. Delivery of notices may not be refused. Notices may be given by a) personal delivery or b) certified mail ..return receipt requested unless applicable law requires a different means of notice. Notices to the landlord shall be at the

address on the first page of this lease and to the tenant at the property"

Asked on 1/19/19, 8:07 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.

You don’t say what kind of notice. The lease controls the relationship between the parties. Under the notice clause you quote, probably not. In person or certified mail return receipt required is called for.

Read more
Answered on 1/19/19, 3:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey